Principal Investigator

Stephan Lammel

Associate Professor of Neurobiology & Weill Neurohub Investigator
Department of Molecular and Cell Biology
Helen Wills Neuroscience Institute
UC Berkeley
  • 2004 Board License in Pharmacy
  • 2004 Diploma in Neuroscience, Martin-Luther University
    Halle-Wittenberg (Germany)
  • 2008 Ph.D. in Neuroscience, Philipps-University Marburg (Germany)
    with Dr. Jochen Roeper
  • 2009 Leopoldina Postdoctoral Fellow at Stanford University
    with Dr. Rob Malenka
  • 2015 Assistant Professor, UC Berkeley
  • 2021 Associate Professor, UC Berkeley

Staff Members

Elaine Tan

Lab Operations Manager
Ph.D. UC San Diego
B.A. UC Berkeley

Jonathan ‘Jack’ Read

Research Assistant
B.A. UC Berkeley

Postdoctoral Scholars

Johannes ‘Han’ de Jong

NARSAD Young Investigator
Ph.D. Utrecht University
M.Sc. Utrecht University
B.Sc. Utrecht University

Neta Gazit

NARSAD Young Investigator
Ph.D. Tel-Aviv University
B.Sc. Tel-Aviv University

Kurt Fraser

BRAIN Initiative Fellow
Ph.D. John Hopkins University
B.S. University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Masaya Harada

Swiss National Science Foundation Postdoctoral Fellow
Ph.D. University of Geneva
M.D. Kyoto University

Petra Mocellin

Postdoctoral Fellow
Ph.D. Leibniz Institute for Neurobiology (LIN)
M.Sc. University of Bonn
B.Sc. University of Trieste

Graduate Students

Yilan Liang

B.S. Zhejiang University, China

Odilia Lu

Alper's Fellow

Johanna Mankel

Visiting Researcher
MD/PhD student Roeper Lab (Goethe University)

Anne van den Heuvel

M.Sc. Research Internship
B.Sc. Utrecht University

Undergraduate Students

Thomas La

Ruoxian (Jenny) Li

Mila Zou

Hank Wang

Yilin Shi

Julia Wu

Michael Tanios

Ava Fu

Victoria Li

Youle Fan


Jeroen PH Verharen

Postdoctoral fellow 2018-2024
Current position: Scientist at iota Biosciences

Amanda Tose

Graduate student 2016-2023
Current position: Scientist at Science

Christine Liu

Graduate student 2015-2022
Current position: Postdoc at UCSF (Sohal lab)

Hongbin Yang

Postdoc 2016-2021
Current position: PI at Zhejiang University

Ignas Cerniauskas

HWNI graduate student 2015-2020, Boehringer Ingelheim Fonds PhD Fellow
Current position: Scientist at Cajal Neuroscience

James Peck

Lab Manager 2015-2021
Current position: Verge Genomics

Daniel Cardozo Pinto

Undergraduate researcher 2015-2018, Amgen Scholar, Honor Thesis, LL Chaikoff Memorial Award
Current position: Neuroscience PhD student at Stanford University

Iskra Pollak Dorocic

Postdoc 2017-2021
Current position: PI at Stockholm University

Sophie Obayashi

Research Assistant 2018-2020
Current position: MCB PhD student at UC Berkeley

Jane Lee

Undergraduate Researcher 2022-2023

Eric Hu

Undergraduate Research & Research Assistant 2018-2021, Amgen Scholar, BioE Department Citation Award
Current position: MD/PhD student at NYU

Hasan Ahmad

Undergraduate researcher 2017-2019, Amgen Scholar, Chair's Award in BioE
Current position: Medical school student at UPenn

Jessica Du

Undergraduate researcher 2017-2018, Amgen Scholar, Honor Thesis, MCB Outstanding Scholar Award
Current position: Neuroscience PhD student at UC San Diego

Manze Zhang

Visiting Undergraduate Researcher 2021-2022
Current position: Graduate Student Stanford University

Siyi Gu

Visiting Undergraduate Researcher 2022
Current position: Undergraduate at The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Strahinja Stojanovic

Visiting Researcher 2019
Current position: MD/PhD student Goethe University (Roeper lab)

Yichen Zhu

Undergraduate researcher 2018-2021, Forte Memorial Prize, Jeffrey A. Winer Memorial Prize, Honor Thesis
Current position: MD student at Duke University Singapore

Lilly Tang

Research Assistant 2021-2022
Current position: MD student

Natalie Bernstein

Graduate student 2021-2023
Current position: Graduate student UC Berkeley

Hannah Tak

Undergraduate researcher 2016-2019, SURF Fellow, Honor Thesis, LL Chaikoff Memorial Award
Current position: Medical school student at UC Davis

Aleysha Chen

Undergraduate researcher 2019

Seyedeh Atiyeh Afjei

Research assistant 2015-2018
Current position: Research Associate II, Sri International, Menlo Park

Naveena Sunkara

Undergraduate researcher 2015-2016, Honor thesis
Current position: Medical school student at NY Medical College

Kaho Adachi

Undergraduate researcher 2019-2020, Honor Thesis, LL Chaikoff Memorial Award

Alice La

Undergraduate researcher 2016
Current position: Pharmacy graduate student at UCSF

Vivian Han

Undergraduate researcher 2016-2018, Regents’ and Chancellor’s Scholar

Kulsum Abdali

Undergraduate researcher 2015-2016
Current position: Masters in Medical Sciences at University of Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth

Fawwad Khan

Undergraduate researcher 2016-2018
Current position: Medical school student at UT Southwestern

Michael Bryant

Undergraduate researcher 2016-2017

Recent News

Warm Welcome to Our New Undergraduate Researchers: We’re excited to welcome Victoria Li and Youle Fan to our research team!
We Welcome Anne van den Heuvel for her Research Internship!
Warm Welcome to Our New Undergraduate Researchers: We’re excited to welcome Michael Tanios and Ava Fu to our research team! Welcome aboard, Michael and Ava!
More News

Upcoming Events

Stephan’s tenure talk at UC Berkeley! Please contact Stephan for a zoom link if you like to attend the seminar!
Christine (Oct 19, PM, #X11) and Han (Oct 23, PM, #U38) will be presenting posters at SfN in Chicago! Also, do not miss Christine’s Art of Neuroscience Exhibition!
GRC Catecholamines Read More >
Stephan will be presenting at the ACNP meeting in Palm Springs (Dec. 3-7, 2017). Don’t miss his poster “Nucleus Accumbens Subnuclei Regulate Motivated Behavior via Direct Inhibition and Disinhibition of VTA Dopamine Subpopulations” on Dec. 5 5:30-7:30pm (Board# T267).
Hongbin and Han will be presenting at SfN in Washington on Monday Nov. 13, 2017 (PM session). Board# WW34 and WW40! Also, do not miss Christine’s 2017 Art of Neuroscience Exhibition!
Stephan will be presenting in the “Synaptic Integration Seminar Series” at NIH in Bethesda on Tuesday Oct. 21, 2017 (11AM-12PM). The title of his talk is “Neural Circuit Mechanisms Underlying Motivated Behaviors”.
More Events